TWO POEMS by Sanjeev Sethi

 

Peregrinations

For years it has
been raining.
I’ve moved often.
Each site
I made mine
it seemed,
I had serried
the rain with me.

Valises aren’t meant
to shoulder
mobility of showers.
Though mine
is a unique holdall:
swaddled in scone
it compels me
to carry my case.

 

Rubber Stamp

The furuncle of those fifteen years live
with me as no dermatologist is equipped
to dress it. I am told to travel to other
regions but deadbolt positions fence me.
Some keys are of my making, others by
divine superintendence.

 


 

SANJEEV SETHI has published three books of poetry. This Summer and That Summer (Bloomsbury, 2015) is his latest work. His poems have found a home in  The London Magazine, The Fortnightly Review, Ink Sweat and Tears, Sentinel Literary Quarterly, The Galway Review, The Open Mouse, I am not a Silent Poet, Otoliths, Anti-Heroin Chic, and elsewhere. Poems are forthcoming in Futures Trading, Drunk Monkeys, Linden Avenue Literary Journal, Yellow Chair Review, The Bitchin’ Kitsch and Of/with:. He lives in Mumbai, India.